Historic Districts

Historic Districts MapWake Forest boasts four historic districts, three listed on the National Register of Historic Places and one locally designated historic district.

Local Historic District

Officially designated as Wake Forest's first historic district on May 10, 1979, the Local Historic District runs along North Main Street, once called "Faculty Avenue" because of all the professors who lived there, extending from North Avenue to Oak Avenue, and along North Avenue and East South Avenue. Because this was the only historic district in Wake Forest for twenty years most local residents still think of this as the historic area.

National Register Historic Districts

Wake Forest has three historic districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Properties located in these districts receive a level of protection from adverse impacts which may result from any project utilizing federal or state money. Those properties listed as "contributing" to the historic district, that is, they substantially retain their historic integrity, are also eligible for federal and/or state preservation tax credits. If you are unsure whether your property is listed as "contributing" please contact town staff. The National Register historic districts includes the Glen Royal Mill Village Historic District, the Downtown Wake Forest Historic District and the Wake Forest Historic District.

Interactive Map of Historic Places

Browse the interactive map to learn more about the historic places in Wake Forest. Click on an icon to view photos and read about the historic districts, landmarks, and homes.

View Larger Map

Historic Districts
Senior Planner - Historic Preservation