Planning

Planning Department staff provide administration of land use management documents including the Wake Forest Unified Development Ordinance (UDO) and community plan; review of construction and land development; UDO and municipal code enforcement, and support to various elected and appointed boards.

 

Planning Department News

NEW July 2020-June 2021 Submittal Schedule 

Planning is now accepting applications and payments through our Electronic Plan Review portal, IDT. See our forms and applications page for checklists and applications.

Effective May 1, 2018 Residential Fence permits are no longer required in most cases. Read the Frequently Asked Questions on Fence Permits to find out if you will need one.

New Planning fees effective July 1, 2019

Updated Planting List

 

Interact with our Maps!  

Development plans, transportation projects, historic properties & more

 

Board Meetings & Agendas

Design Review Board

The Design Review Board meeting scheduled for Thursday, July 9, 2020 at 4:00 pm will be held virtually via Zoom, please click here for agenda.

Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://zoom.us/j/98223882630     

Join the meeting through telephone (US): 1-301-715-8592 

Webinar ID: 982 2388 2630#

International numbers available: https://zoom.us/u/abSyq9nB5a

If you would like to provide comments on a public hearing item, please complete this form.

Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission meeting scheduled for Wednesday, July 8, 2020 at 6:30 pm at will be held virtually via Zoom.

Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://zoom.us/j/99434755375

Webinar ID: 994 3475 5375

International numbers available: https://zoom.us/u/adQFXhQXut

If you would like to provide general comments or comment on a public hearing item on the agenda, please complete this form.   

 

Development Services Reports 

May 2020 Development Services Monthly Report

The Planning Department wants your feedback!  In order for us to serve you better, we ask that you fill out this short survey. Your responses will allow us to gauge the value of the services we provide and continue working to improve them.

Preliminary revisions to the Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs) for Wake County are available to be viewed at the NC Floodplain Mapping Program. The posted preliminary flood hazard data reflect restudies for portion of various flooding sources in Wake County.

A Draft FY2019-2020 Wake County Annual Action Plan is now available to be viewed by clicking: Draft FY2019-2020 Wake County

 

Development Services 

The Development Services Division administers many of the current planning, zoning, and plan review functions that are part of the overall responsibilities of the planning department. Projects can involve new construction, repairs, replacements, renovations, remodeling, rezoning or clearing of land. General responsibilities include: addressing, annexations, code enforcement (Unified Development Ordinance & Municipal Code), flood damage prevention, site & subdivision plan review, architectural design review, zoning administration and sign permitting.

 

Planning Services

The Planning Services Division is responsible for the development, implementation, maintenance and evaluation of the long range plans of Wake Forest. General responsibilities include: small area and corridor planning, transportation, historic preservation, public art vision and the Greenways & Open Space program.

 

Planning Department Staff 

Name Job Title Email Phone Numbers
Courtney Tanner, AICP, CZO Director ctanner@wakeforestnc.gov
Office
919-435-9536
Jennifer Currin, AICP, CZO, LEED AP Assistant Planning Director jcurrin@wakeforestnc.gov
Office
919-435-9517
Laurie Butler Office Assistant II lbutler@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9518
Kari Grace, AICP, CZO Senior Planner kgrace@wakeforestnc.gov
Office
919-435-9511
Courtney Jenkins, CZO, AICP Planner II cjenkins@wakeforestnc.gov
Office
919-435-9514
Michelle Michael, MHP Senior Planner (Historic Preservation) mmichael@wakeforestnc.gov
Office
919-435-9516
Brad Pleasant, CZO Zoning Compliance Officer bpleasant@wakeforestnc.gov
Office
919-435-9541
Patrick Reidy, AICP, CZO Senior Planner - Development Services preidy@wakeforestnc.gov
Office
919-435-9515
Terry Savary, CMC, NCCMC Planning Technician/Deputy Town Clerk tsavary@wakeforestnc.gov
Office
919-435-9537