Planning

transectPlanning Department staff provide administration of land use management documents including the Wake Forest Unified Development Ordinance (UDO) and community plan; review of construction and land development; UDO and municipal code enforcement, and support to various elected and appointed boards.


Planning Department News


Board Meetings and Agendas

  • The Planning Board will hold Joint Public Hearing and regular meeting on March 5, 2019 at 7:30 pm

  • The Historic Preservation Commission will have their regular meeting on Wednesday, April 10, 2019 at 7 pm.
    April 10, 2019 Agenda

  • The Design Review Board will not have an April meeting.


Development Services Reports 

  • March 2019 Development Services Monthly Report

  • The Planning Department wants your feedback!  In order for us to serve you better, we ask that you fill out this short survey. Your responses will allow us to gauge the value of the services we provide and continue working to improve them.

  • Preliminary revisions to the Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs) for Wake County are available to be viewed at the NCFMP’s new webpage. The posted preliminary flood hazard data reflect restudies for portion of various flooding sources in Wake County.


Resources


Development Services 
The Development Services Division administers many of the current planning, zoning, and plan review functions that are part of the overall responsibilities of the planning department. Projects can involve new construction, repairs, replacements, renovations, remodeling, rezoning or clearing of land. General responsibilities include: addressing, annexations, code enforcement (Unified Development Ordinance & Municipal Code), flood damage prevention, site & subdivision plan review, architectural design review, zoning administration and sign permitting.


Planning Services
The Planning Services Division is responsible for the development, implementation, maintenance and evaluation of the long range plans of Wake Forest. General responsibilities include: small area and corridor planning, transportation, historic preservation, public art vision and the Greenways & Open Space program.


Planning Department Staff 

Name Job Title Email
Chip Russell, AICP Director crussell@wakeforestnc.gov
Jennifer Currin, AICP, CZO, LEED AP Development Services Manager jcurrin@wakeforestnc.gov
Brendie Vega, AICP Assistant Planning Director bvega@wakeforestnc.gov
Laurie Butler Office Assistant lbutler@wakeforestnc.gov
Jonathan Jacobs, PE Transportation Engineer jjacobs@wakeforestnc.gov
Courtney Jenkins, CZO Planner II cjenkins@wakeforestnc.gov
Michelle Michael, MHP Senior Planner (Historic Preservation) mmichael@wakeforestnc.gov
Suzette Morales, PE Transportation Planning Manager smorales@wakeforestnc.gov
Brad Pleasant Zoning Compliance Officer bpleasant@wakeforestnc.gov
Patrick Reidy, AICP, CZO Senior Planner - Development Services preidy@wakeforestnc.gov
Terry Savary Planning Technician/Deputy Town Clerk tsavary@wakeforestnc.gov
Planning
919-435-9510
919-435-9539
Location

Wake Forest Town Hall
Third Floor
301 S. Brooks St.
Wake Forest, NC 27587

Hours

Monday - Friday
8 am - 5 pm