Planning

transectPlanning Department staff provide administration of land use management documents including the Wake Forest Unified Development Ordinance (UDO) and community plan; review of construction and land development; UDO and municipal code enforcement, and support to various elected and appointed boards.


Planning Department News

NEW Submittal Schedule for Development Services
August 2018-July 2019 Submittal Schedule - when to submit and expect comments in return

Development Services is now accepting applications and payments through our Electronic Plan Review portal.  See our forms and applications page for checklists and applications.

Effective May 1, 2018 Residential Fence permits no longer required in most cases. Read the Frequently Asked Questions on Fence Permits to find out if you will need one.

New Planning fees effective March 1, 2018

Updated Planting List.

Interact with our Maps!  

Development plans, transportation projects, historic properties & more


Board Meetings and Agendas

The Joint Public Hearing and Planning Board meeting for July 2, 2019 has been canceled.  There will be a Joint Public Hearing and Planning Board meeting on August 6, 2019 at 7:30 pm at Town Hall.

The Historic Preservation Commission will have their regular meeting on Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 6:30 pm.
July 10, 2019 Agenda


Development Services Reports 

March 2019 Development Services Monthly Report

The Planning Department wants your feedback!  In order for us to serve you better, we ask that you fill out this short survey. Your responses will allow us to gauge the value of the services we provide and continue working to improve them.

Preliminary revisions to the Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs) for Wake County are available to be viewed at the NC Floodplain Mapping Program. The posted preliminary flood hazard data reflect restudies for portion of various flooding sources in Wake County.

A Draft FY2019-2020 Wake County Annual Action Plan is now available to be viewed by clicking: Draft FY2019-2020 Wake County


Development Services 

The Development Services Division administers many of the current planning, zoning, and plan review functions that are part of the overall responsibilities of the planning department. Projects can involve new construction, repairs, replacements, renovations, remodeling, rezoning or clearing of land. General responsibilities include: addressing, annexations, code enforcement (Unified Development Ordinance & Municipal Code), flood damage prevention, site & subdivision plan review, architectural design review, zoning administration and sign permitting.


Planning Services

The Planning Services Division is responsible for the development, implementation, maintenance and evaluation of the long range plans of Wake Forest. General responsibilities include: small area and corridor planning, transportation, historic preservation, public art vision and the Greenways & Open Space program.


Planning Department Staff 

Name Job Title Email Phone Numbers
Chip Russell, AICP Director crussell@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9511
Jennifer Currin, AICP, CZO, LEED AP Development Services Manager jcurrin@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9517
Brendie Vega, AICP Assistant Planning Director bvega@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9536
Laurie Butler Office Assistant lbutler@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9510
Jonathan Jacobs, PE Transportation Engineer jjacobs@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9441
Courtney Jenkins, CZO Planner II cjenkins@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9514
Michelle Michael, MHP Senior Planner (Historic Preservation) mmichael@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9516
Suzette Morales, PE Transportation Planning Manager smorales@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9512
Brad Pleasant Zoning Compliance Officer bpleasant@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9541
Patrick Reidy, AICP, CZO Senior Planner - Development Services preidy@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9515
Terry Savary Planning Technician/Deputy Town Clerk tsavary@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9537
Planning
919-435-9510
919-435-9539
Location

Wake Forest Town Hall
Third Floor
301 S. Brooks St.
Wake Forest, NC 27587