Peggy Allen Lifetime Achievement Award

The Peggy Allen Lifetime Achievement Award was first awarded in 2005 to Peggy Garrin Allen for her lifetime of service to the Wake Forest Community and was named in her memory.

Peggy Allen was a graduate of Wake Forest College when it was located in our town. For many years she with her husband Bob published the Wake Weekly newspaper winning numerous national awards. Peggy was epitomized as being selfless, having a deep love of community. She was known for her love of children and believed that our children are our future. She was one who put family first and to Peggy family went well beyond her immediate kin to include the entire Wake Forest family. She was active in many community organizations and volunteered countless hours to community service.

The recipient should be an individual who has contributed at least 10 years of service to the Wake Forest Community and epitomizes many of the characteristics that Peggy was known to possess. The nominee should have a record of long service to the greater Wake Forest Community.

Nomination Form

Peggy Allen Lifetime Achievement Award - nomination form


  • Nominations must be received by noon on the third Wednesday in October.

  • To request a hard copy of the nomination form, please email the Wake Forest Community Council. Hard copy submissions may be dropped off at the Town Hall Information Desk, located in the lobby of Town Hall, 301 S. Brooks St.

Peggy Allen Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

  • 2005 Peggy Allen

  • 2006 Rhonda Alderman

  • 2007 Barbara Massenburg

  • 2008 Jonnie Anderson

  • 2009 Chip Russell

  • 2010 Al Merritt

  • 2011 Martha Loftin

  • 2012 Karen Winstead

  • 2013 Durward Matheny

  • 2014 Ruth Ann Dyer

  • 2015 Robert "Bob" Hill

  • 2016 Vivian Jones

  • 2017 Michael Johnson

  • 2018 Jim Adams
  • 2019 James Warren

  • 2020 Greg Harrington

  • 2021 Jill & Randy Bright

  • 2022 Dr. Enoch Holloway
Community Council Resources