Downtown Wake Forest Historic District
The Downtown Wake Forest Historic District Virtual Tour provides historic information on significant buildings within the Downtown Wake Forest Historic District.
The Downtown Wake Forest Historic District was listed in the National Register of Historic Places on February 20, 2002 with a period of significance from c. 1890 to 1951. It is the commercial core of the Town of Wake Forest and all buildings in this district were built between 1890 and 1949. Most are of brick construction ranging from one to three stories in height. The historic functions of the buildings represent the usual variety of a downtown, shops on the bottom with upper floor apartments and office space. The district's streets were paved and concrete sidewalks installed prior to World War II. One historic Bowser Enclosed Long Distance gas pump remains on White Street today nestled between the sidewalk and street in front of the Wilkinson Building.
Development in downtown essentially ceased by the early 1950s due to the move of the college to Winston-Salem. Only one building was built along S. White Street after 1960, the Fidelity Bank building between East Roosevelt and Owen Avenues. The Bank was built in 1971 and is not included in the Downtown Historic District. Today the Downtown Wake Forest Historic District is home to many local shops and businesses and functions as a gathering place for local community members.
If you would like to know more about the Downtown Wake Forest Historic District click the Wake Forest Downtown National Register Historic District Nomination on the right side of the screen or take the virtual tour.