Good Neighbor of the Year Award

Nominate a Good NeighborThe Human Relations Council is soliciting youth (ages 10-18) and adult (ages 19 and older) nominations for the 13th Annual Good Neighbor of the Year Award. The award recognizes Wake Forest residents who work to improve the quality of life in their neighborhoods without seeking recognition for their efforts.

In order to qualify for this year's award, a nominee must be a Wake Forest resident who made a significant contribution to the community between Sept. 1, 2021, and Aug. 31, 2022. Employees of the Town of Wake Forest are not eligible. All nominations must be received by Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2021.

The "Good Neighbor of the Year" Award is Wake Forest's way of recognizing residents who are committed to preserving, maintaining and improving the quality of life in their neighborhoods and our community. Your assistance in recognizing these residents is greatly appreciated.

Nominate a Good Neighbor


Good Neighbor Day

Mayor Vivian Jones will present a commemorative plaque to one youth and one adult winner during this year’s Good Neighbor Day on Saturday, Sept. 17. The event is scheduled from 1-4 p.m. at E. Carroll Joyner Park, 701 Harris Road.


Good Neighbor of the Year Winners - Adult

2021 Ronnie Jackson

2020 Kenille Baumgardner

2019 Tilda Caudle

2018 Joy Shillingsburg

2017 John Andrew Barrett

2016 Hank Pierwola

2015 Connie & Herman Cole

2015 Norma Bennekin

2014 Becky Rogers, Hilda Warren

2012  Art Schwartz

2011 Albert Barneto, Eugene Adams

2010 John Panichello


Good Neighbor of the Year Winners - Youth 

2021 Jordan Kaplan

2020 N/A

2019 Simone Smith

2018 N/A

2017 Trent Taylor

2016 Brianna Hernandez

2014 Katie Newhouse

2013 Scottlin Davis

2012 Kyndall DySard

2011 Holden McLemore

Good Neighbor of the Year Award
Human Resources Director
Helpful Links