The <u>Wake Forest Board of Commissioners</u> met Tuesday, Dec. 19, 2023. Mayor Vivian Jones and the five commissioners were present. An overview of the Board's actions is provided below.

Please note: This summary should not be viewed as official minutes. To view the meeting minutes, visit the <u>BOC page</u> on the Town website or contact Town Clerk <u>Terry Savary</u>.

### **Public Hearings/Public Comment**

During Public Comment, three residents spoke on various topics.

### **Consent Agenda**

- A. Approval of a resolution to schedule the public hearing and certify the sufficiency for a petition requesting annexation submitted by Marion Jordan C/O Edward and Louise Smith for property associated with the rezoning request RZ-23-07, located at 200 Stephen Taylor Road, being Franklin County PINs 1842-82-6404 (parent PIN) and 1842-82-7362 (secondary PIN) being approximately 1.008 acres
- B. Approval of the 2024 Board of Commissioners Meeting Schedule
- C. Approval of Budget Ordinance Amendment # 1 FY 2023 2024
- D. <u>Approval of the Town of Wake Forest Affordable Housing Land Disposition Program Policy</u>
- E. Approval of resolution updating the Internal Control Policy

## **Stormwater Utility Fee**

The Board approved a new Stormwater Utility fee that includes a civil penalty.

# **Contract for Transportation Impact Fee Study**

The Board approved a resolution that approves the Transportation Impact Fee Study scope of work and fee and allows the Town Manager to enter into a contract with Benesch.

# Purchase of Generation Systems from Power Secure, Inc.

The Board approved the purchase of eight generation systems from Power Secure, Inc. for a total of \$4,944,914.

### Mutual Aid Agreement for Garner and Wake Forest

The Board approved a framework for cooperation and mutual assistance between the Town of Wake Forest and the Town of Garner in the aftermath of a storm or natural disaster, specifically for the cleanup of debris, restoration of public infrastructure, and support for affected residents.

### **Resolutions of Appreciation for Outgoing Commissioners**

Outgoing Commissioners Jim Dyer and Chad Sary were recognized for their service, and each was presented with a resolution, plaque, and portrait.

### Oaths of Office for Commissioners-elect

Commissioners-elect Ben Clapsaddle and Faith Cross were sworn in by Mayor Vivian Jones, while re-elected Commissioner Adam Wright was sworn in by Rep. Terence Everitt. All took their respective seats on the dais.

### **Election of Mayor Pro Tem**

The Board voted to appoint Commissioner Keith Shackleford as Mayor Pro Tem. Commissioner Shackleford shall perform the duties of the mayor in the mayor's absence. Former Commissioner Jim Dyer served as the previous Mayor Pro Tem.

### **BOC Meeting Summaries**

Board of Commissioners meeting summaries are issued from the Communications & Public Affairs Department following the Board's monthly meetings, which are typically scheduled at 6 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month. To receive each month's meeting summary via email, sign up for <u>E-Notifier</u>.