
 
 

MECHANICS’ LIENS 
 
Effective April 1, 2013 
 
In accordance with North Carolina General Assembly Session Law 2012-158, 
inspections offices are not allowed to issue any permit where the project cost is $30,000 
or more unless the application is for improvements to an existing dwelling that the 
applicant uses as a residence OR the property owner has designated a lien agent and 
provided the inspections office with the information below. 
 
Name of Lien Agent           
Mailing address of Agent           
             
Physical address of Agent           
             
Telephone      Fax      
Email             
 
 
This information will be attached to the permit record and a copy provided to the 
applicant.  The applicant is required to post a copy on the property. 
 
 
 
 
 
Excerpt from North Carolina G.S. 153A-357: 
“(Effective April 1, 2013) No permit shall be issued pursuant to subdivision (1) of subsection (a) of this section 
where the cost of the work is thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) or more, other than for improvements to an existing 
single-family residential dwelling unit as defined in G.S. 87-15.5(7) that the applicant uses as a residence, unless the 
name, physical and mailing address, telephone number, facsimile number, and electronic mail address of the lien 
agent designated by the owner pursuant to G.S. 44A-11.1(a) is conspicuously set forth in the permit or in an 
attachment thereto. The building permit may contain the lien agent's electronic mail address. The lien agent 
information for each permit issued pursuant to this subsection shall be maintained by the inspection department in 
the same manner and in the same location in which it maintains its record of building permits issued.” 


